Memory 1

In Memory

In 1964, Senator Stevens wrote the Articles of Incorporation for the Alaska Broadcasters Association and served as it’s first Secretary & Treasurer. He was elected into the ABA Hall of Fame in 2003. Senator Stevens was a good friend and champion of both Commercial and Public over the air broadcasters. He will be missed.

2016 Recipient

Cheyenne Mathews, a 2016 graduate of Ketchikan High School and enrolled at the University of Alaska-Anchorage. Some of her outstanding accomplishments include her ranking as first in her class of 132 students; maintaining membership in the National Honor Society for the past three years; taking First Place at the Alaska State Public Forum Debate in 2016; being School President for the Student Body Association and being a Rotary Youth Interact Member.

2015 Recipient

Christian Hartwell, a sophomore at the University of Oregon, Christian also graduated with honors in 2014 from Dimond High in Anchorage. He was a Spirit of Youth Award winner in the category of Media & Technology in 2014; received a Visual Communications Award from the Career Technology Dept. at Dimond High, and achieved the rank of Eagle Scout with the Boy Scouts of America in 2013.

2014 Recipient

Sara Wise, graduated from West Anchorage High School in 2014. She completed a Gifted Mentorship at the Alaska Teen Media Institute in video production. She also produced a document about girl wrestlers which play at the Bear Tooth Three as part of the King Career Center’s youth screening.

2012 Recipient

McLean Cannon, a 2011 graduate of Juneau-Douglas High School. McLean was a news intern at KTOO FM in Juneau; this experience helped him to add broadcasting to his love of journalism. He is a sophomore studying Broadcast Journalism at the University of Oregon. He is specializing in sports journalism, is an anchorman on Duck-TV and is the editor of BeyondU a college sports blog site